Accessing files on a partitioned hard drive

Reaction score
Hi, some help would really be appreciated..

I've been running VM Ware Fusion on a MacBook for the last few years..until the motherboard died last week..

Anyway all the information is fine on the 'Mac' part of the hard drive, I have installed it all on a new MBP.

The issue is how to access what was on the Windows partition. I guess it's there, I just can't 'see' it? When I migrated everything onto the new Mac, VM Ware Fusion appears in the dock but of course it cannot locate the partitioning.

The point of all this is: I have the original hard drive (from the defunct MacBook) but how can I access the partitioned Windows part of it to get the data files at least?

Secondly how can I, if at all, install/transfer all this to the new MBP?

Any help would be appreciated as I am not an expert and would love to see my Windows files again!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
When you say 'partition' do you mean you accessed the bootcamp partition (with Windows installed on it) via VMWare Fusion or are you talking about a VMWare virtual machine with Windows installed in it?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
OK. A VM is basically just a big file (or bundle of files). It's stored on your Mac hard drive and isn't separate partition.

By default they are stored in:
Macintosh HD/Users/Your User name/Documents/Virtual Machines

If this file cannot be found on your new hard drive in this location then it should still be on your old drive. Just copy it across, into the folder above, and VMWare should see it on startup

OP
S
Reaction score
Hi,

I found the file..opened it, but VM Fusion wouldn't start up..in the bottom left corner of the screen it says 'virual machine is off' and then when I try to start it I get 'failed to connect to peer process'...ideas?

OP
S