I tunes

Reaction score
I'm a working musician. I use I tunes to store my music library. I depend on this library for research and to prepare for gigs. I've been attempting to move to a new I Mac on Lepard. I can't seem to find anyway to transfer these files. Is there something I can read to learn how to do this? I've been attempting to use a Firewire cable and migration assistant, but it's not working. The thought of shoving hundreds of cds into the new Imac seems a terrible waste of time. Any clues?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PPC Mini, 10.4.11. Intel Mini, 10.6.8. MacBook Pro, 10.14.6. M1 MBA 11.6.3 iPhone 5 iOS 12.5,
Migration Assistant should work. If not copy your Home Folder>Music>iTunes folder to an external drive and then to your new iMac.

OP
Z
Reaction score
Migration Assistant should work. If not copy your Home Folder>Music>iTunes folder to an external drive and then to your new iMac.

Thanx for you reply. Much apprciated!

I did a time machine backup on an external drive. Got a bunch of folders and apps but not the photos and music files and photos I need.

All my music and photos are in Itunes a Photo. How do I get them out of these applications in order to move them onto an external hd? I was hoping that my playlist in Itunes could remain intact. That's the way I have them organized

C

chas_m

For iTunes: iTunes for Mac: Moving your iTunes Media folder

iPhoto: you simply copy (that's COPY not MOVE) the entire iPhoto Library to the desired destination.

Next, double-click on the iPhoto library in the new location. iPhoto will open and use this library as the new default one (you can double-check that you're using the "right" one by checking preferences).

Then you can delete the "old" one, but BE AWARE that if you try to open iPhoto when the external drive si not mounted, iPhoto will create a new BLANK library in the usual location (user/pictures). Then you'll have to re-point it to the external one.

C

chas_m