how to keep photo captions when transferring them to external hard drive?

NmY

Reaction score
I have had my MacBook for 2 years (OS10.5) but because I am a tech phobe, have not been exploring the wonders it can do. The most that I have been using it for has been to upload photos of my children onto iPhoto. In the last week, the MacBook has been popping up a dialogue box that tells me that my "start up disk is full", which I'm thinking means there's no more memory room in my computer(?), so I attempted to transfer some pictures and videos onto the external hard drive (WD), but when I do that, the captions for each photo got lost.

Question1) How can I retain the captions when transferring the pics over to the hard drive?
Question2) After safely transferring the pics over, is it safe to delete the pics to make more room for "start-up disk"?
Question3) How can I check if "start up disk is full" mean computer memory is full?

Please advise. Thank you!

C

chas_m

Question1) How can I retain the captions when transferring the pics over to the hard drive?

I don't know if this is still relevant as it was written quite some time ago, but have a look:

Assigning iPhoto Keywords and Comments to EXIF Data Fields

(just pay attention to the part about moving comments to EXIF)

There may well be a program or script that can do this for you less painfully by now. I don't know.

Question2) After safely transferring the pics over, is it safe to delete the pics to make more room for "start-up disk"?

The "start-up" disk is your internal hard drive. It would probably be wiser (not to mention easier) to just move the entire iPhoto Library to the external drive. Here's how you do that:

1. COPY (not move, COPY) the entire iPhoto Library package (file) to the external drive.