Remote Management, Access, etc

Reaction score
I don't really have a specific outcome that I'm looking for here, but I would like to know where to start. First, I am trying to figure out the best way (software, OS X built-in, configurations, etc.) to remotely access a iMac at home from my Macbook. I have never done any remote management before, so I don't know too much about where to start. I've briefly looked into the system preferences options (file sharing, remote login, remote management, etc) and have played with each a little. First, what is the difference between remote login and remote management?

I want to be able to control my Mac at with as much administrative capabilities as I can. Should I use a VPN? I've looked into this the most because I want to have access outside of my home network. Is Apple Remote Desktop the software that I should be looking at?

One issue is that the operating system at home is Snow Leopard, and I am using Lion on my Macbook. What will this affect? I will eventually upgrade the other OS, but it would be better if I can set it up as it is.

If the VPN is the way to go, will I need to go into my home router settings and change all of the port forwarding configurations, or is there some software that will take care of that? I think I saw a program called Slink in the app store that claims it will cover the port forwarding configurations. I've heard that there are some security issues as well; how should I go about taking care of those?

Also, is it possible to have read/write access to an external hard drive connected to the home computer, with and/or without all the remote management set-up? It's not a server or NAS drive, just a regular mac-formatted drive.

Sorry for huge question dump, I'm just having a hard time finding these solutions in one place. Any help for any of these issues would be great. Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Performa 6116 2GBSCSI 8MB OS 7.5.3