Please Help! Imac Quad i5 Vs Mbp dual-core i7 Purchase dilemma Please help

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2009 MBP OSX Lion
Hello Newbie here,

I'm trying to figure out which Mac will be the better purchase.
I'm going to be using the system for mostly for home recording using Logic Studio 9 and Pro tools in the future.

I'd like a Quad core laptop but the price is to high for my budget right now. I'd like a portable laptop but its not totally required as I have a emty room soon to be converted into a small studio so a laptop or desktop will work.

I have been told the dual core i7 is comparable if not faster than the Quad i5, but I'm not sure if that is true?
It seems that Apple is moving toward the Quad processors in the future and I don't want to have a really slow one and regret the purchase. So, I'm wondering which system I should choose? Is there anything in the specs that reveal that one is faster than the other? Both Machines fit into my budget, which is $1300.

Any suggetions would be greatly appreciated.

Imac 21.5 inch 2.5GHZ Quad Core Intel Core i5
2011 version
21.5-inch LED-backlit glossy widescreen display
4GB memory
500GB hard drive
8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
AMD Radeon HD 6750M graphics with 512MB memory

Built-in FaceTime HD camera

or

Macbook Pro 2.7GHZ dual-core intel i7
released 2011
13.3-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit glossy widescreen display, 1280-by-800 resolution
4GB (2 x 2GB) of 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
500GB Serial ATA @ 5400 rpm
8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
Intel HD Graphics 3000 with 384MB of DDR3 SDRAM

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
mbp 15 2009, mbp 13 2010
Hello Newbie here,

I'm trying to figure out which Mac will be the better purchase.
I'm going to be using the system for mostly for home recording using Logic Studio 9 and Pro tools in the future.