Odd Freezing Issue (Already tried the obvious)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Quad-core 2.2ghz i7, 8gb DDR3, 128GB SSD+750GB 2nd HDD, 1680x1050
Ok guys and gals, I have an odd one for you.

First off, a preface:

I am an apple certified mac tech (ACMT). I know enough about my mac to rule out most of what could be tried by myself, a service provider, and or Apple, itself. This is what I'm working with: Macbook Pro 15, 2.2ghz i7, 8gb, 128ssd+750gb HDD, 1680x1050. 10.7.3 with all updates as of 4/30/12. (C02FX07PDF91).

Ok. So here's the problem. This happens anywhere from twice a day to twice a month. There seems to be no real pattern to the issue. I can be browsing the Internet, using an app (pretty much any semi-intensive app or higher has done this so far), playing a game (I frequent World of Warcraft). I haven't gotten it to happen while watching TV or movies (via Netflix, Hulu, iTunes, etc).

My machine will slowly start to freeze up. I first notice it when I try to do something small like open a new tab in my browser. After finding that doens't work, I try to close it. It never closes. I try to force quit. Force quit will hang. By this time everything is pretty much non-responsive except I see my status lights (from an app I have) on my menu bar doing what they normally do when I'm idling (almost always idle with a touch of activity here and there) and I watch my clock tick away. By this time the only way to recover is to power cycle. When I reboot, I head for my logs. No Kernel Panic log data and the system logs magically stopped recording entries at the time it first starting going down.