What's the best Macbook for software development?

Reaction score
Hello there,

I'm a computer science student and right now I have a Macbook 13' (2006 model) that, so far, has been doing great as the only programming I'm doing is Java so it runs Eclipse or Netbeans smoothly. However, soon I'll start to do some other applications and I'll also start programing in C++ and even assembly and, among other things, I'll surely need to run Windows (either in virtual machine or bootcamp) for some other work.

Therefore, I'm going for a new laptop, and my doubt is between MBA or MBP. I do feel inclined towards MBA as I carry the computer with me everyday however I also want a reliable working machine (that is, reliable machine for software development) and given this perhaps the MBP is a better solution.

Anyways, I was looking for advice from experienced programmers that could tell me which macbook would be better for me.

Thanks

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
I'm sure, if you're doing basic work, the MBA would work. However, in the long run, you might be better served with the MBP especially if your coding requires more system power to do compilation (or any other task). What's your budget?

OP
A
Reaction score
My budget is up to $2k. And I'm also looking for a computer for the next 5 years, which means it will my include my early professional works, so that's why I'm not sure the MBA will be enough or if I'll regret not getting a MBP now...

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
I'd say given your financial flexibility and potential professional needs, the MBP would be a much better choice (especially if you're looking for longevity).

Reaction score