Mac crashes when running windows 7 in bootcamp

Reaction score
I have a macbook pro running snow leppard and dual booted with windows 7. Can anyone tell me how to diagnose my mac to see if i have a hardware problem. For some reason it crashes when I am running windows. It seems to happen when I am using IE 9. The screen will go black and will not respond. The keyboard is still lit but that is all. I have to hold start button to restart. I am a rookie at doing diagnostics. Would appreciate some advise.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
A model and year would be nice also how much ram is installed?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
It sounds like it may be a video driver problem in Windows 7. Try updating your video driver while running in Windows 7. Go to your graphics chipset maker's web site and download their latest drivers for Windows 7. For example: ATI, nVidia.

Reaction score
That is exactly what it sounds like to me because of that error message. If true, the OP might want to do a fresh VM install and NOT use the Win7 partition as the basis for it.

Cheers

OP
T
Reaction score
I downloaded the latest driver for the nVidia 300m that is installed on my laptop. I did not see Sammy Slim's reply until after i installed it. It gave me the option to update the driver or do a clean instal. I selected update. So far I have not had a issue. I will let you know if i do. Thank you both for your help.

OP
T
Reaction score
I am having the same problem still. Should I reinstall the latest video driver using the clean install option?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey