Macbook PRO 13" or Macbook AIr 13"

Reaction score
I wanted to buy a portable pc for myself, but not really sure which one is most suitable. I've compared both and its absolutely great to me. I would say here that I'm an apple fan-boy, but i do really need to buy this since i have no laptop at all. I owned iMac 24", iPhone, and consider to buy an iPad in the future. Im a computing student that do designing and programming. I'm also doing photography and editing as my hobbies. I'm not a gamers. What i like about the pro are the black frame, the DVD-rom(since my iMac's DVD-rom damaged), and dislike the thickness. The things i like about the air are the thin, the ssd, and dislike the small storage and the grey frame. The same part of both which i like is the card reader(import my images). Hope you guys can help me, cheers XD

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
At this point...MacBook Airs cannot be upgraded beyond 4gig of ram (and if you want 4gig of ram...you MUST configure it this way at time of purchase). If this is a limitation you cannot live with...then get the MacBook Pro.

- Nick

OP
K
Reaction score
yeah i didn't realise that. I got my 24" iMac with maximum ram for 4gig, installed Lion and its getting slow. Hey nick, i wanna ask you what is the reason you not buying the MBA? Say if you need to choose either one of them.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
...i wanna ask you what is the reason you not buying the MBA? Say if you need to choose either one of them.

I never really said that I wouldn't buy a MacBook Air!;)...but if I was choosing between a MBA and a MBP (and I could only have one)...it's an easy choice (for me)...I would get the MacBook Pro.

In addition to the 4gig ram limit I mentioned above: