Macbook (Late 2006) Maximum Capacity

Reaction score
I am new to modifying a Mac and have a few simple questions.

What is the maximum capacity of hard drive and memory I can use?

What are the specifications that I need to search/purchase compatible hardware?

Are there specific brands that perform better in Macbooks?

If I do upgrade, is there anything else I may need to upgrade to prevent a performance issue?

Lastly, can I copy and paste the OS to a jump drive and install from that? OR Can I use the original start-up disk that came with my 2009/10 iMac?

Thanks in advance for any advice any of you may be able to give. I know they are simple questions, but I am new to modifying and I would like to not mess up on my first attempt!

Oh, I found this website. Thinking rationally, I had assumed as long as it fit I was good to go...
MacBook 13" Core 2 Duo Late 2006 Parts - iFixit

C

chas_m

I am new to modifying a Mac and have a few simple questions.

What is the maximum capacity of hard drive and memory I can use?

750GB, 7200RPM (you need a 9.5mm drive, not a 12.5mm). For RAM, 3GB (1x1GB and 1x2GB, PC-5300 DDR2)

What are the specifications that I need to search/purchase compatible hardware?

Have no idea what you mean by this.

If I do upgrade, is there anything else I may need to upgrade to prevent a performance issue?

Hello, that machine is six years old. It is the oldest possible machine that can run the current OS and current software. You are on the edge of obsolescence, as am I (mid-2007 BlackBook), but it is still "current" hardware (and can run "current" software for the foreseeable future, it just can't be upgraded to 10.8 when it comes out this summer).

Lastly, can I copy and paste the OS to a jump drive and install from that? OR Can I use the original start-up disk that came with my 2009/10 iMac?