No Sound through TV from MBP

Reaction score
Hi everyone, i'm new to the mac forum community and it looks like their are some mac officiators that could help a confused Aussie.
I am wanting to watch my MBP through my Samsung TV so was told to buy a mini display port to HDMI adapter. The picture comes through perfectly when i mirror the displays but unfortunately the sound only works on the internal speaker on the MBP.
Watched some you tube clips and tried some things with the sound options as stated in some posts on this site but alas no sound.
When i go to sound in syst.prefs the output section does not list my samsung tv??? How do i get that option (as the you tube clips show it appear automatically).
I also went to utilities to the audio midi setup and the tv option doesn't appear on the left hand side. Any help would be greatly appreciated:Confused:.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
mbp 15 2009, mbp 13 2010
Hi everyone, i'm new to the mac forum community and it looks like their are some mac officiators that could help a confused Aussie.
I am wanting to watch my MBP through my Samsung TV so was told to buy a mini display port to HDMI adapter. The picture comes through perfectly when i mirror the displays but unfortunately the sound only works on the internal speaker on the MBP.
Watched some you tube clips and tried some things with the sound options as stated in some posts on this site but alas no sound.
When i go to sound in syst.prefs the output section does not list my samsung tv??? How do i get that option (as the you tube clips show it appear automatically).
I also went to utilities to the audio midi setup and the tv option doesn't appear on the left hand side. Any help would be greatly appreciated:Confused:.
if your mbp is prior to 2010 you should buy an audio cable male ends, one to your speaker out of mbp, the other to tv audio in.

Reaction score
I think you need to have an audio cable (with male end)

OP
K
Reaction score