Sharing data on PC network

Reaction score
I haven't actually switched, yet, but would really like to. I've owned every iPhone model ever made, as well as the iPad 2 and now have iPad {3} on order. I'm now seriously contemplating a 27" iMac. What makes this especially interesting is that I've been a Windows programmer for 25 years and used to be very... ummm... errr... "anti-Apple". However, I love my devices and how they just work, and I've been playing around a bit with iMacs and MacbookPros and they just seem to work so simply and elegantly that I have to have one! :Mischievous: I'm taking a lot of abuse from co-workers over my iMac interest, but I'm pretty much sold, regardless.

I'm in the process of making sure I'll be able to do everything I need to with an iMac, though, and that I won't have any regrets. The biggest concern is my home network of multiple PC's and 12gb file server. They won't get switched over anytime soon.
So here are my questions:
1) Will an iMac be "smart enough" to just tap into that network, see all the shares, and be able to access remote files?
2) Will it be able to share files on it's own local drives with PC's on the network?
3) I believe Macs, by default, install applications to the "Applications" folder. What do they use as the default location for user settings/documents?
4) Is it possible to change the user folder, to put it on a second drive? I saw this question asked elseware and every answer said that would be stupid to do. However, I would go with a SSD system drive, and I don't want all my documents, photos, music, etc. to all end up on that (small) drive. I would want them all on a separate "data" drive. I don't think that is stupid, as it works spectacularly in the PC world.
... two more questions:
5) Can I connect my Logitech Z-5500 5.1 surround speakers to an iMac? I noticed that I do have an optical input for my speakers. Is there such a thing as an optical cable where one end would go in the mini-plug jack on the iMac?