Switcher questions

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 1.83Ghz, 1GB Ram, 60GB HD. 19in. external display, bluetooth keyboard and mouse. Closed Lid.
Hi... I'm kindof in a real crossroads right now because I am a senior highschool student who is applying to college and I have an 8lb dell that I don't want to use in college. I would wait until June to pick up a new powerbook but there are a couple of things that detract from that option:

1. People say there will be problems with the centrinos...
2. I don't think I can sell my dell for nearly as much then as I can now.

However, if I sold my laptop in Dec. or Jan. I probably could get $1000 for it... What I am wondering is if I should just sell it now and pick up a refurbished 15" pb 1.5ghz G4 for $1,450, or wait until I see a current 15pb in the refurb section. Nevertheless, I don't know when that will be. What I really want is the extra 64mb of ram that the current 15in pbs offer. I only play world of warcraft on occation and wcIII, but I just would feel a little more secure with the extra video ram (and a slightly faster cpu as well).

The other option I thought of was buying a new previous gen. 15in pb off ebay that was configured with a super drive and 128mb vram for around $1600. If I were to do that, would apply start the 1 year limited warranty after I register the computer? Or could that 1 year limited warranty already be 4 or 5 months old?

I'd ask anyone who bought a refurbished apple to tell me how they liked it and if it was in really good conditioin (i.e. the case was free of scratches, and screen wasn't knicked or scratched).

Thanks alot.

H

Harryc

I just bought a refurb'd 12" Powerbook 1.5Ghz superdrive last week from Apple. Anyone would be hard pressed to tell the difference between it and a brand new Powerbook. It is perfect in every way. In fact I got lucky (which happens often I understand) in that it was supposed to come with 512MB RAM, and it came with 768MB installed.

OP
A
Reaction score