iPad 3 vs MacBook Pro 13"

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I need some insight/advice.

Im looking to get either a macbook or an ipad, but not sure which.

i am a student and i want to used the ipad/mbp for writing papers and the such, however, im sure i would use it for facebook stuff and minor browsing on the internet

i dont know if it would be better for me to just get an ipad and use it w/ my wireless keyboard, but ipads dont support flash or MS word.

so give me your thoughts...basically as a student, looking to use it for typing notes, papers, research

(p.s. i have an imac desktop for all my media, movies, music etc)

C

chas_m

This is more of a tossup than it was even a couple of months ago.

It seems pretty obvious that MS is working on some form of Office for iPad, and of course there is Pages which IMO is a better option anyway. It might not win on a every-bell-and-whistle checklist, but I find it less soul-deadening than Word. As for when that might come out, your guess is as good as mine.

Lack of Flash is again IMHO a complete non-issue. Since I don't play silly Facebook games, I really haven't much use for Flash. All the major video sites and (again IMO) major USEFUL sites have long since switched over to HTML5 where they can. I have yet to EVER experience the feeling of "wow, I wish I could view this awesome web site on my iPad but I can't because it doesn't support Flash!" Mostly it's more a question of "wow I can't believe how many annoying animated ads I'm NOT SEEING thanks to there being no Flash on this thing!"

I'm sure there are examples out there that I'm not aware of where it might be more of an inconvenience, but so far I haven't run into it. If some web designer is so stupid as to not know that hundreds of millions of web-capable iOS devices can't see their site because its all-Flash, well ... what are the chances that I would want to visit this site anyway?