New to iOS development. Where do I start?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2009 MBP 15 Inch, iPhone 4, iPad 2
Hello all!

First time in this part of the forum :)

I'm in need of some direction and guidance. A quick background; I'm very solid in all the basics (HTML, CSS) and know a bit of php, and have messed a little with Ruby on Rails in the recent past. Very solid with wordpress as well and work with it on a daily basis.

The things that I haven't even come close to touching and regret not doing sooner is actual software programming and engineering. I have no C, Objective C, etc experience. This is something I've really wanted to learn, understand and become very proficient at for some time now, and there is no time like now.

There's a massive amount of resources, tools, tutorials, instructional etc out there, this I know. But I really have no idea where to start. What language do I dive into, resources and so on. The end goal is to become a very solid app developer, but it won't come easy or quickly, I'm not at all under the mindset that I'll be in the app store within weeks or months. I've spent the last 10 years of my life in e-commerce, seo, sem, marketing, and simple programming world, I know the task that sits before me.

So guys...where do I start? Any advice is very much appreciated! :)

Reaction score
If you want to make native iOS apps, then there really is only one sensable choice, and that
is the Objective-C language.
Yes you could learn C++ or Java to make iPhone apps, but they would not be able to
harness the power of the Cocoa Touch Frameworks, in the same native way that
Objective-C can.

If you want to make Mac OSX apps, then you could choose any of the C languages, or java, or any other number of programming and scripting languages, but again I would personaly
recommend learning either Objective-C, or C++.

If you decide to go the Objective-C route, then these books listed below, I would highly