Path to find Photos

Reaction score
I am a long-time PC user who has just switched over to a new MacBook Pro & have a number of questions. I'm still learning the mac 'way of life' but am confused by iPhoto. How do I easily access the photos that were transferred into iPhotos (by the Apple Store team) so I can find them to use in FB or when I'm working on my web site & want to upload a photo?

How best to manage iPhoto? I used to collect photos in folders in My Pictures on my PC - what is the best way to manage photos so they're easily accessible in iPhoto?

Is there an easy rule of thumb for downloading programs & getting them to end up where I want them? I downloaded a Kindle app & Calibre (book program) & don't know where they ended up.

Thanks for your help!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air M1 2020 Ventura 13.4.1 500Gb 8Gb. iPhone12, Watch 5, HomePods.
Hi,
You seem to imply that when you open iPhoto that there are no photos there..is this correct?

If the Apple Store team did this then they've not done a good job. Did they just drop them into a folder on your desktop perhaps?

Normally all your photos will end up in the iPhoto Library which is available by default when you open iPhoto.

There is an option in iPhoto under File>Import into Library, which is one way, once you select them (that is if you find them)..another is to drag and drop any that you find onto the iPhoto icon in the dock at the bottom of your desktop. If you want to upload a photo to Facebook, when in iPhoto go Share>Facebook on the menu bar at the top of your desktop.

Apps when downloaded tend to end up in the Applications folder which you can find by using Finder, the Applications folder icon in the dock or typing in the name in Spotlight on the menu bar ( top right magnifying glass icon).

Hope this helps.

C

chas_m