No ethernet on new Macbook Pro?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2009 MacBook Pro, 15-inch, Intel Core 2 Duo,
Please help me feel better about what I just read. Of course we will not know what the new Macbook Pro is equipped with until it is released, but I just read.........

"The MacBook Pro 2012 is expected not to have optical drives, FireWire and ethernet. Instead, it will make use of Thunderbolt and USB ports, and an SD memory card reader. Just like the MacBook Air, the design will be clutter free and simpler. As their saying goes – “The simpler the better.”

If this is true, help me with the following as I am a Macbook Pro owner of 4 years, but not savvy on what is meant by the above guess of the 2012 MBP.

What if there is no ethernet connection? In my office I am connected to a network. We have a server. I depend on this connection to get there. Because we have a facility with many people, connecting wirelessly to the network and the server would be possible - I assume - but then the server would not be secure to other guests in our building. Again I may be wrong here. Explain please so I will feel better.

I also connect to an external monitor as a workstation, with keyboard and mouse as well.

Please again tell me if I can do what I am currently doing or if I am busted.

thanks,

Dan of Troy

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
It's a rumor till the new MBP's are released no-one outside of Apple knows the internet rumors get it wrong more than right.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 17" 2011, 2.3GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 8GB RAM, MacMini 2011, 2.7GHz Intel Dual-Core i7, 8GB RAM
If the link doesn't start with apple.com, then take it with a grain of salt.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 15" MacBook Pro OS X 10.7.x & some old Macs