Safari: Open new tabs like in Firefox?

Reaction score
I'm new to Mac, switched from a PC where I exclusively used Firefox as a web browser. I'm getting the hang of Safari now (I know I can use Firefox on this Mac but I'd rather just use what it came with, if possible). While using Firefox, I got extremely used to being able to middle click a link, thumbnail, etc. and have it open it in a new tab. Now I have the Magic Mouse, and I have set it up so that a three finger tap on the surface emulates a middle click. My problem is, I don't know how to set middle click to open link in new tab in Safari! I looked in the system prefs for Safari and couldn't find a place to set up shortcuts like this.
Anyone have any ideas?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2010 MBP 15" i7, 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OS-X 10.7.2; iPhone4 iOS 5.0
Hi and welcome Rhypt. It's a doddle in Safari too: CMD+T to open a new (blank) tab, or CMD+click to open a link in a new tab.

Enjoy!

OP
R
Reaction score
Thanks for the quick reply! I know about the CMD shortcuts to do that stuff, what I was wondering is if I can set my middle click to open links in a new tab, as it does in Firefox.

Reaction score
When I do it I just right-click it (tap it with two fingers on my trackpad). Like I highlight the link if it's not already all blue and underlined, and then right-click so it comes up with the little list of things you can do it with it, and select "open in new tab".
Hope that's what you were looking for :D

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Bear with me Rhypt I may have misunderstood what you are trying to do. Launch Safari and open its preferences (from the Safari menu pr by pressing Command+.). Click on the icon labeled "Tabs" From there you can control whether or not Safari opens new windows in tabs.