Bootcamp / Windows XP problem

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm not sure where to post this, but as a newbie I figured this would be the spot:

I have this MacBook: MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - Aluminum - Apple Store (U.S.)

I upgraded the 2Gb of RAM to 4Gb and then decided to use Bootcamp to partition my hard drive and install an OEM copy of Windows XP Pro that I had purchased. I did this so that I could play SWTOR (which would need to be set to its lowest settings for even remote playability).

I did everything, and went to sign on to Windows XP but it immediately asked for activation (not the normal 30 days). I tried to activate via internet (no internet drivers so no surprise it didn't work). So, I clicked on "activate by telephone." Well, no activation code showed up so no Microsoft employee would help me. I was a bit frustrated, tried booting it in Safe Mode to see if I could do anything (no surprise, I couldn't because I'm not that knowledgeable but felt like I was because of google). Anyway, I played around by trying to boot it in a few different ways and by sheer luck or fluke (I say this because I don't know how I did it), it booted right up into Windows without asking for my password. The typical Windows with the rolling hills opened up and I was advised I had 30 days to register Windows XP. I then downloaded all the required drivers from my Mac OS X disc and, since I had an internet connection, it worked. It validated my copy and I downloaded all the updates. Everything was working fine. Until......

I went to install SWTOR and realized its huge!!! I partitioned my measly 160Gb hard drive allowing 25Gb to Windows. It wasn't enough! So....I deleted the partition via Boot Camp. Then, through some good advice on these forums, I purchased a larger hard drive (320Gb).