Thinking of purchasing iMac G5

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac | iPhone 4
Hey guys,

So I was watching the apple special event a few weeks back and saw Steve present the new iMac G5, WOW! - I want one! lol, and because i'm a student I can get one a little cheaper.

Just a few questions though before I start saving;

I am an Interactive Multimedia student and so do a lot of work on Photoshop, Director, Flash, Dreamweaver etc. The iMac I would get would be the standard package but with 1GB RAM instead of 512MB.

Will the iMac be a good little machine for my needs? Ideally I would go power Mac as that’s what we use in our studio, but I can't afford one of those :(

And finally, those of you lucky enough to already own a new iMac, how good are they??? What’s front row like??? - come on, spill the dirt on em! I need to know lol.

Kind Regards,

Chris. ;)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook 1.33 Ghz, 768 RAM
The iMac G5 with 1GB RAM would do what you want with ease.
Hope this helps
Paul

L

Lorelei

The one I just ordered (see a thread below) I got upped to 1gig and going nothing else upgraded.

I also use Dreamweaver etc but it hasn't arrived yet but seriously it will be fine. :)

Happy Maccing!

L

lil

It will fly along, not forgetting the wonderful screen you will have to do all of that editing.

Vicky

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacbookPro 15.4, 2.2ghz i7 (Late 2011), Macbook 1,1 1.83ghz CoreDuo
I read that they low end model 1.9ghz has 512, all the other models are doing 1gig standard..... Pretty bad***** if you ask me. but has plenty of room with the standard 160gig hdd.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MacBook Pro
lil said:
It will fly along, not forgetting the wonderful screen you will have to do all of that editing.

Vicky
When I was in the Apple Store near me looking at the new iMacs the screens seamed like they had a red tint to them, nothing like the normal apple screens or the PBs

BTW Mr. Chris you'll love your iMac.

L

lil