After a new hard drive is installed?

Reaction score
I have a 24 inch iMac from late 2006. model number A1200, it had a 250gb hard drive, 2.16 / 1 gb... so I am new to trying to do DYI computer stuff so bare with me. It needed a new hard drive so I bought a WD 500gb one and installed it. The computer then turned on and a blank screen came up with a file with a ?... SOmeone gave me the non working iMac so I don't have the original start up disk and not sure on the operating system but I have a macbook and I put in my snow leopard disk. So I got the option for english then I clicked continue and when it tries to install it says select disk where you want to install mac os x but nothing is coming up and only the back button is highlighted. Does anyone know what I can do? Thank you..

OP
R
Reaction score
I have a 24 inch iMac from late 2006. model number A1200, it had a 250gb hard drive, 2.16 / 1 gb... so I am new to trying to do DYI computer stuff so bare with me. It needed a new hard drive so I bought a WD 500gb one and installed it. The computer then turned on and a blank screen came up with a file with a ?... SOmeone gave me the non working iMac so I don't have the original start up disk and not sure on the operating system but I have a macbook and I put in my snow leopard disk. So I got the option for english then I clicked continue and when it tries to install it says select disk where you want to install mac os x but nothing is coming up and only the back button is highlighted. Does anyone know what I can do? Thank you..

C

chas_m

Two things:

1. Sounds like you didn't format the disk before replacing the old one. That's why it's not recognised.

2. A disk from another machine flat-out isn't going to work. You need to buy a RETAIL copy of either Leopard (if your iMac is PPC or Intel Core Duo) or Snow Leopard (if it's Intel Core 2 Duo). Snow Leopard is a LOT cheaper and a LOT easier to find so I hope your machine is a Core2Duo though I very much doubt it.