Torn Between Mac Mini & iMac -- & Ivy Bridge

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro with Retina Display: 2.6GHz, 16GB DDR3, GT650M 1GB, 512GB SSD
First off, I'd like to say hi - as this is my first post on this forum! :Cool:

I've been saving up for a new computer for a few months now and finally have the funds needed to purchase a "high-end" Apple computer. I have narrowed my choices down to either a Mac Mini or an iMac (specs listed below). I really have no knowledge on these types of things - and therefore am having a hard time making a final decision (more of an adrenaline junky than a computer guy!). I was wondering if any of you guys could help point me in the right direction.

iMac: $2509.00

- 3.4 GHz Quad-Core I7
- 8 GB RAM
- 1 TB HDD
- AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2GB GDDR5
- 27" Built-In Display

Mac Mini: $2256.00

- 2.7 GHz Dual-Core I5
- 8 GB RAM
- 500 GB HDD
- Macbook Air Superdrive
- Magic Mouse
- 27" Thunderbolt Display

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Given the above specs, is it worth going the extra $250 or so for the iMac, or will the Mac Mini do fine? I will be using the Mac for a combination of Photoshop, Final Cut, and Pro Tools (among other things like web-browsing, etc). Once again, I really have no idea about how to judge these types of things.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Secondly, is it worth waiting a few months for a potential new iMac/Mini release following the Ivy Bridge processors hitting the market before purchasing?

Thanks guys - I know it's a lot to ask. (Sorry if I posted in the wrong place or if there's already something like this) :Oops:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.