shutting down

Reaction score
I am new to apple but am liking my macbook pro. I would like to know if there is a way to permanently uncheck the reopen windows on startup box which appears while shutting down the macbook pro. I would like to be able to ask the macbook to shut down and not have to click any more things before getting it to shut down. Thanks for any help you might have.

C

chas_m

Another method: get into the habit of quitting program when you're done using them BEFORE you shut down.

Who shuts down anymore, anyway? :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPod Classic 80G, iPod Touch 4th Gen 64G, iPhone 4s 64G, iPad 2 16G, MacBook Pro 13" 2.8Ghz 8G 750HD
Who shuts down anymore, anyway? :)

I have been wondering about this. When I won't be using my MBP for a while, I'll close the lid to conserve power. That puts it into a sleep mode, right?

What is the best state in which to move the MBP? I often take mine to school with me and want to be sure I'm transporting it safely. Do I need to completely shut down before sticking it in the neoprene case (which gets put in my backpack)?

Thanks =)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Late 2011 MBP,iPad '3' 32gb,iPhone4 32gb
Another method: get into the habit of quitting program when you're done using them BEFORE you shut down.

Would Time Machine be classed as a program that's running and causing this window to pop up?

Because if I shut down my machine, I make sure all programs have been shut down, yet this box still comes up.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
What is the best state in which to move the MBP? I often take mine to school with me and want to be sure I'm transporting it safely. Do I need to completely shut down before sticking it in the neoprene case (which gets put in my backpack)?