Safari Question

Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
93
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Location
Las Vegas
Your Mac's Specs
15" MB 2.6 Ghz, 4 GB ram
Hello!

I just "switched" to a 15" Powerbook and am very happy so far. I haven’t used a Mac since back in the day around grade school or something I think it was an SE.

Anyway........... I've been using Firefox for a little over a year on my Windows machine and am hooked on tabbed browsing. My home page was about 6 different pages. Can Safari be started up with multiple tabs?

Currently, I have a blank homepage and right click on the folder on my toolbar then select open in tabs.

Any help is appreciated and I rather "play" with Safari instead of using Firefox, at least for now.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
4,915
Reaction score
68
Points
48
Location
Mount Vernon, WA
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo 4GB RAM OS 10.5.2
As far as I know Safari can not be started with multiple tabs, but you can have a tab folder, so that you can open up all the bookmarks in that folder as several tabs in the current window.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2005
Messages
809
Reaction score
111
Points
43
Location
ohio
Your Mac's Specs
iBook G4 OSX Tiger
you can do it with applescript. Just paste the following into Script Editor, change the urls at the beginning, save it as an application and open it instead of safari:


property URL1 : "http://"
property URL2 : "http://"
property URL3 : "http://"

tell application "Safari"
reopen
set the URL of document 1 to URL3

my new_tab()
set the URL of document 1 to URL2
my new_tab()
set the URL of document 1 to URL1
end tell

on new_tab()
tell application "Safari" to activate
tell application "System Events"
tell process "Safari"
click menu item "New Tab" of menu "File" of menu bar 1
end tell
end tell
end new_tab
 
OP
MMMII
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
93
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Location
Las Vegas
Your Mac's Specs
15" MB 2.6 Ghz, 4 GB ram
Nice! I'll try the script tonight.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2005
Messages
809
Reaction score
111
Points
43
Location
ohio
Your Mac's Specs
iBook G4 OSX Tiger
a little note though, it wont work if safari is open. you have to quit safari, not just close the windows upon exit if you want it to work the next time
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2005
Messages
809
Reaction score
111
Points
43
Location
ohio
Your Mac's Specs
iBook G4 OSX Tiger
this script should work whether safari is running or not:

property URL1 : "http://"
property URL2 : "http://"
property URL3 : "http://"

tell application "Safari"
reopen

set the URL of document 1 to URL1
my new_tab()
set the URL of document 1 to URL2
my new_tab()
set the URL of document 1 to URL3
end tell

on new_tab()
tell application "Safari" to activate
tell application "System Events"
tell process "Safari"
click menu item "New Tab" of menu "File" of menu bar 1
end tell
end tell
end new_tab
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
111
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
ontario
Your Mac's Specs
powerbook 12-inch G4 1.55ghz 80g 512mb superdrive
i dont understand what you mean by tabs.. is it possible to post a pic of this please..
 
L

liberal123

Guest
w...b said:
i dont understand what you mean by tabs.. is it possible to post a pic of this please..

Tab's are like having multiple windows open, except they are all controlled in one window. For example say you had 4 pieces of paper on a desk, all with a tab attached to the top of each one, to view the one you wanted you would just look at the tab and pull the piece of paper to the front. With tabbed browsing you click the tab and it brings the contents of the page loaded on that tab to the front, So you are effectively loading several sites at once but still only viewing one. The idea is to minimize clutter on the workspace area and make surfing the internet that little bit easier :)

Hope this clears it up a little bit.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
476
Reaction score
7
Points
18
Location
Arlington Heights, IL USA
Your Mac's Specs
17" Flat Panel iMac -15" 1.5GHz, 80GB HDD, 128MB ATI video card, 1GB RAM- PowerBook
I've been using this one for a while now, I had written one that was a little clunky and overbloated, but the fine folks over at www.macscripter.net came up with this one:

tell application "Safari" to activate
repeat with loc in {"http://www.apple.com", "http://www.mac.com", "http://www.macscripter.net"}
tell application "System Events" to keystroke "t" using command down
tell application "Safari" to set front document's URL to loc
end repeat

You can change/add to the url's as you heart desires.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top