TM won't talk to my new LaCie Network Space 2

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air M1 2020 Ventura 13.4.1 500Gb 8Gb. iPhone12, Watch 5, HomePods.
Hi,
I'm new to network drives and thought I'd invest in a new 2tb drive for Time Machine backup purposes.

I've connected the box to my w/less router, put the software in from the CD Rom and can't choose it in Time Machine prefs. It's sat on the network fine but when I run through the TM config I keep getting this message below

It won't even show on disk utility. I powered off and hooked it up to my iMac via USB and absolutely nothing happened , and it still didn't show in DU.

Anyone get any thoughts please?

Thank you
Liam

Screen Shot 2012-02-03 at 12.46.28.png

OP
P
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Hi again, baffling isn't it.

My music stream via ATV2 just got dumped off the network and I've had to set everything up again.

As a consequence I no longer intend this device to be used on the network and have now hooked it up to the back of my iMac via USB. Does anyone know how I can access it ? It's possible that it needs formatting for Mac but I can't see it in Disk Utility.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2
If it isn't showing up in DU - then there is something fundamentally wrong with the setup. Is there another Mac you can try - and I would also try with a Windows box if you have one.

I've had plenty of formats hooked to USB NTFS, VFAT, FAT - and DU saw all of it. I was able to format the disks as well for use with the Mac.

On another note - what is your wireless router? Not all USB disk routers support Time Machine. Also if your disk isn't formatted HFS+ time machine won't work with it. Even Apple's airport Extreme didn't always support Time Machine. (I have it working for a friend nowadays though) I do have the Time Capsule and a USB disk working for Time Machine as well.

OP
P
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thank you IvanLasston,