Second Mac Having Trouble

Reaction score
Hello I am a newbie here and definitely not a tech. I am actually on my 3rd Macbook Pro in as many years. My first one was older and was getting slow so I bought a new one. The second one was a Intel Dual Core but was the previous generation Macbook Pro. This computer also got extremely slow, Fan was coming on all the time. One night I turned it off and it never came on again. Was told by the tech that the motherboard was fried. My latest Mac (2.53 Intel Core i5) started having the same problems so I upgraded the Ram to 8gb. This seemed to help temporarily but I am back to the Fan coming on at full blast and the ball is spinning all the time and it is extremely slow.
The thing these computers have in common is that I backed up the old HD's and put the files on the new computers. I do some light video editing but these are just some smaller YouTube style vids I use on one of my sites. Other than basically being on the thing 24hours a day I don't think I am running anything too major.
I know you get alot of people with this type of problem and the answers are quite generic but this case is a little different I think as I know for a fact just by the way it is running that this Mac is doomed as well. I backup every hour and am just waiting for my 5 month old computer to die.

Please help if you can!

I attached a few pics from the Activity Monitor. Found it weird that it says 5.39 GB of ram is being used when just a few days ago I only had 4GB. Wonder what it was doing then.

I have run virus software as well which found nothing.

Screen shot 2012-01-30 at 9.10.20 PM.png

Screen shot 2012-01-30 at 9.10.08 PM.png

Screen shot 2012-01-30 at 9.09.45 PM.png

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.