iMac Lion lost everything!

Reaction score
I have had a new iMac that came pre-installed with Lion for about 4 months or so. No major problems with it. I was working yesterday afternoon and noticed my iMac was a little slow. Being the end of the day, I just shut everything down and restarted. When I came in this morning, I logged in to my account and it was like my iMac was fresh out of the box. Everything was back to factory settings and all of my documents, applications, pictures, etc... were gone. Thank goodness for Time Machine! I just restored from yesterday afternoon and brought everything back....but still! Has anyone else encountered problems like this? I have been working with Macs for over 10 years and have never had anything like this happen. I've had software problems and hard drive crashes, but never an unexpected wipe like this. I'm about to call Apple and pay the fee to see what the problem is, but I wanted to throw this out there first.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Strange!
Let us know what you find out.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook - 2.4 ghz intel core duo / 4 gig of ram.
That is crazy. How awful. Hope you get it sorted, haven't a clue what would have happened.

I am extremely dubious about Lion. I currently have a Macbook Pro which came with it. I also have a black macbook from 2008, which is actually FASTER on tasks like photoshop, adobe lightroom and browsing the net.

Considering putting snow leopard on and seeing if it improves.

It feels to me Apples quality control has vanished. This is my third mac, right now i'd go back to a PC in an instant, if I hadn't spent £1800 on a new mac!

Reaction score
it did strange..

Thank god you got you file back.

Please let us know how the Apple scientists explain feeback about it.

I have a MBP with the Lion OS, I don't want my book will make my file disappear...

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score