Buying A Macbook Pro

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro (Late 2011), 2.4 Ghz Intel Core i5, 4GB, 500GB. Mac OSX Lion 10.7.2
Hello Everyone,
I'm currently deciding if I should purchase a Macbook Pro 13' of late 2011. I am not a graphic designer but I am a pre-med student. I use my internet daily and I use it for: Facebook, Tumblr, Online Shopping, Chatting, Gaming, Downloading Music, Movies, Uploading photos from my iPhone. That is pretty much it. What would you guys recommend me buying?:)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac mini Server 4,1 (2.66GHz Core2Duo CPU, 16GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 500GB HD), iPhone SE 2nd gen (128GB)
If it weren't for the gaming, a basic configuration 11" MacBook Air with an external hard drive for extra storage would do for your purposes...

As it is, which MacBook Pro you'd need would depend on which games you plan on playing (also, bear in mind that you'd need to install Windows via Boot Camp to play PC games).

If you really want a Mac notebook (& I'm not saying there's any reason why you wouldn't!), it might be worth considering getting the MBA & portable HDD and just getting a cheapish desktop PC to game on... Could work-out quite a bit cheaper. That, of course, will only be if you need a high-spec machine for your gaming though; otherwise some type of MBP + Windows in Boot Camp will be best.

What kind of games do you plan on playing?

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
You can make a really decent budget gaming rig for under 700 dollars. I know cause I do it all the time. >_<" I don't spend as much time playing PC games as much as I use to. That will probably change when Guild Wars 2 comes out but I digress. >_>"