In the market for a new Macbook Pro 15"... will I be able to do the following?

Reaction score
I use my computers a lot. Both of the laptops I've owned haven't really stood the test of time, and use very well--I take care of my things the best I can, and I don't drop or roughly handle anything that I have--but my current (non-Mac) laptop has cracked pieces of plastic around the screen and the performance is starting to really suck on it. Anyway, I'm in the market for a new Macbook Pro 15". The 2.2Ghz version (because it's all I can afford.. :p)

Now, my uses for it are this:

I'm a musician, so I'd be running Logic 9 Pro, and MainStage 2 on it. From what I've been able to tell, it runs both of these pretty flawlessly--although I'm sure the more extensively I use it, the more it'd choke out on the system--but hopefully not! I also do video editing and photography, as well as some web design, so I'd have software for all of those things in there too. On the side, I play games here and there occasionally (I'd definitely have Bootcamp running on it partitioned). Do you think the standard 2.2Ghz version will be able to do all of this without too much of an issue?

Also, I'd be buying this in person--do you think the Apple store can put the 7500 RPM version of the 500GB harddrive in there, or will have one that's already stocked with it? I need something both affordable, but something that's also a power house for the crap I do. Probably a pretty standard question, but still. Just checking.

Last but not least, do you think it would be physically sturdy enough to travel with? Traverse the town in the back of a backpack with a protecting sleeve around it? I don't like carrying laptop cases around. Beyond that, does anyone have any suggestions for low profile backpacks that will keep it protecting? Something Jansport-y that doesn't scream with "HEY, THIS HAS A LAPTOP IN IT!"?

I'd be basically using it for everything, personal use, as well as professional. :)