So Frustrating! G5, 10.4.11

Reaction score
Sorry, can't delete this post.. moderator, please delete and I will repost in software area.

Hey guys first post. I'm writing out of pure frustration for my Mac. I have been a Mac graphic designer for more than 20 years, so I know the ins-and-outs of the Mac... but here is the problem I have.

Problem 1:
My '4 x 2.5 GHz PowerPC G5' Mac at home is running 10.4.11.

My iTunes is 9.2 (61).

It seems we can't update either our OS or the iTunes due to it NOT being an Intel Machine. Can anyone help me?

Problem 2: I updated my iPhone 3G on my work Mac (a newer Intel), and now I can't plug it in at home without it telling me it's not able to update.

Thanks in advance fellas.

Kevin

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
late 2012 mini w/SSD
Yup, that's the PowerPC problem....

You'll need OS X 10.5 Leopard. Last OS for PowerPC. Enables newer iTunes than you have.
Leopard isn't sold in stores any more. You have to buy it from places like eBay, Craigslist, etc. Be sure to only buy a Black retail version DVD (with some purple highlights and a big X across the face of the DVD).

OP
K
Reaction score
Thank you Gents!!! I have a bigger issue I believe, the Adobe CS5 package I need to upgrade too only works on an intel machine.. so... I think my path is clear... I can 'snow leopard' this older machine to get it rockin, and hopefully find a nice used intel machine locally to continue fwd.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Yes CS5 is intel only

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
We have all been there and done that kbuicker. Hated parting with my G5 Dual Core, but this is what is called progress. Having been forced to an Intel machine, you will have no regrets as the speed difference is really amazing.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD