Questions About Switching

J

JAdams

I'm sort of in the market to buy a new computer. I'd really like a mac.

Unfortunately, money is an issue.

We have a relatively nice computer running Windows XP, but I'm starting to get tired of it. It's becoming obsolete, and painfully slow. If it were my decision, I'd get a new Mac tommorrow, and never look back.

Being a high school student, I don't have the money or the decision-making powers to make that happen.

My dad actually seems fairly supportive of switching over to Mac OS, but he uses a lot of software programs that are specifically windows, and so he'd like to keep the current computer around.

Anyway, that's what brings me to my dilema. I want/need a computer of my own.

I've been looking at several solutions.

The first two involve buying a certified used mac mini. In scenario one, I'd get a KVM switcher and hook it up with all the stuff for this computer. But the way I look at that, it's wasted space. Two computers at one workstation, means only one can be used at a time. Second solution involves me getting the mac mini and hooking it up to some surplus computer parts we have in the garage. That would work if I had a desk. Unfortunately, I just got new furniture in my bedroom, and got rid of my desk. It could work out with some moving, but that would almost eliminate the convenience of having my own computer.

Third solution is getting an older iBook. Quite frankly, this might be the best solution, because I'd really prefer a laptop.

Any of the above solutions are possible (even though I might have said they aren't) and I'm open to any solutions.

I've been looking at both certified pre-owned offered direct from the apple online store, and www.powermax.com

My maximum price is probably $550.

Preferably, I'd like a laptop but anything might do. It wouldn't need to be fancy, just enough to run instant messenger, surf the internet, of course iTunes, and maybe a game or two?