Show us your OSX Terminal.

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
CWA suggested a thread about how our OSX Terminals look and what colors we are using. Here is my Terminal in Lion. Color Scheme goes back to my Atari ST Terminal days.

Screen Shot 2012-01-08 at 6.11.45 PM.png
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,924
Reaction score
559
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Ooooh, I like this thread. ;)

Here's mine. I've changed the default config up a bit to meet my needs. I have a custom PS1 variable value (this is why my prompt is different from the default). So, instead of the the machine name:current directory username$ prompt, I have a simple current directory :: prompt. I've also made the background translucent with a slight blur.

van_term.jpg

In case you're interested, I've set PS1 to be the following:
Code:
PS1="\[\e[37;40m\]\w\[\e[31;40m\] :: \[\e[0m\]"
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
Since I'm not connected to multiple machines on this box, ever, you can have any colour you like, as long as it's white on black.

Screen Shot 2012-01-08 at 7.27.18 PM.png
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,924
Reaction score
559
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,042
Reaction score
812
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Mine:

00000285.png
 
OP
dtravis7

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE

Cool CWA. That reminds me of my Commodore 128 in a terminal when I had it plugged into a Green Screen monitor. I got sick of Amber monitors and got one with Green text. Display looked like your terminal! Brings back many memories!

And Van, I know you would love this thread. :D
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
Funny that, so far, all but Dennis' has been transparent :)
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,924
Reaction score
559
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
And Van, I know you would love this thread. :D
Of course! You know me and my love of the CLI.

Funny that, so far, all but Dennis' has been transparent :)
Indeed. Transparency sure does seem to be a popular change (if you want to count a sample of 4 as significant).
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
Of course! You know me and my love of the CLI.

Indeed. Transparency sure does seem to be a popular change (if you want to count a sample of 4 as significant).
Hence the 'so far'. I will say that in the Linux crowd I know, it's common as well (I do the same color combination/transparency on my linux laptop as well)
 
OP
dtravis7

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Here we go. Forgot about the transparency setting.

terminal2.png
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
2,116
Reaction score
123
Points
63
Location
Rocky Mountain High, Colorado
Your Mac's Specs
1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2
I like the homebrew scheme. How about something more interesting - here is my code to setup my bash prompt (put in ~/.profile)
Code:
export PS1='\e[0;31m\w\e[m\n\T (\! \j) > '
everything up to the \n is for directory -> the \n is for newline. \T is for time \! is for job number and \j is for running jobs.
More info here
How to: Change / Setup bash custom prompt (PS1)

Also because blue doesn't show up well on a black/transparent background I changed my lscolors for directory (note this code snippet is all comment except for the last line (the export line) - which is the actual setup for lscolors) I just keep it all in the ~/.profile so that I have a reference for it.

Code:
#ansi colors for ls
# a     black
# b     red
# c     green
# d     brown
# e     blue
# f     magenta
# g     cyan
# h     light grey
# A     bold black, usually shows up as dark grey
# B     bold red
# C     bold green
# D     bold brown, usually shows up as yellow
# E     bold blue
# F     bold magenta
# G     bold cyan
# H     bold light grey; looks like bright white
# x     default foreground or background
#order of LSCOLORS
# 1.   directory
# 2.   symbolic link
# 3.   socket
# 4.   pipe
# 5.   executable
# 6.   block special
# 7.   character special
# 8.   executable with setuid bit set
# 9.   executable with setgid bit set
# 10.  directory writable to others, with sticky bit
# 11.  directory writable to others, without sticky bit
#                        1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1011
export LSCOLORS='Hxfxcxdxbxegedabagacad'

To use colors -
Code:
ls -G
You can put that as an alias in your .profile
Code:
alias ls='ls -G'

Screen Shot 2012-01-09 at 11.01.55 AM.png
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,924
Reaction score
559
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
That ls colour "legend" is fantastic - that's a keeper for sure! I'm going to have some fun with that later.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,210
Reaction score
1,418
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Here we go...start a thread like this...and I can just see the..."I messed up my Mac using Terminal!"...questions!;);)

- Nick

p.s. Pretty cool/interesting thread otherwise!:)
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
Here we go...start a thread like this...and I can just see the..."I messed up my Mac using Terminal!"...questions!;);)

- Nick

p.s. Pretty cool/interesting thread otherwise!:)

Perhaps people should just be careful executing what they don't understand ;)


Seriously, there's a lot of power at the command line. Often times things can be done much faster and easier than at the GUI. With that, however, comes the option to royally muck things up. All in all though, it's a good thing to learn. O:)
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,210
Reaction score
1,418
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Perhaps people should just be careful executing what they don't understand ;)

Seriously, there's a lot of power at the command line. Often times things can be done much faster and easier than at the GUI. With that, however, comes the option to royally muck things up. All in all though, it's a good thing to learn. O:)

I totally agree:)...except remember we have a lot of folks that don't understand:

- What a blinking "?" means on startup.
- What "the deal" is behind the use & limitations of the "gray/silver" OS disks.
- Don't spill liquids on (or drink near) your notebook!;)

My advice usually is...if you don't know what "Terminal" is...DON'T open it. And if you do want to mess around with Terminal...read, read, read...first!:)

- Nick
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,924
Reaction score
559
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Here we go...start a thread like this...and I can just see the..."I messed up my Mac using Terminal!"...questions!;);)

Perhaps people should just be careful executing what they don't understand ;)
A solution/preventative to this is Unix virtual machines. Download a nice Linux or BSD distribution (or if you hate yourself, Solaris), install it as a VM and experiment away with impunity. Problem solved! Haha.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,210
Reaction score
1,418
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
A solution/preventative to this is Unix virtual machines. Download a nice Linux or BSD distribution (or if you hate yourself, Solaris), install it as a VM and experiment away with impunity. Problem solved! Haha.

Great suggestion/advice!:)

- Nick
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,924
Reaction score
559
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Yeah, it's how I should have learned (oh the things I broke). I didn't know of virtual machines when I was learning about Linux so I did a lot of reinstalls while exploring the innards of the operating system. Oh how I wish I had known about virtual machines before I was comfortable at the command line. ;)
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top