Make Terminal command

Joined
Jan 8, 2012
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Forgive me if this is not the correct place to post, but I found a similar question here.

I have used a mac as my main machine for about 6 years, but have had no real need to get involved in the terminal. I've dabbled with xcode, but wanted to try something new and decided to try to learn Python. The first step was downloading Python, and then following the readme instructions as follows:


Code:
On Unix, Linux, BSD, OSX, and Cygwin:

    ./configure
    make
    make test
    sudo make install


So I have run the first step although it doesn't appear successful:

Code:
checking for --enable-universalsdk... no
checking for --with-universal-archs... 32-bit
checking MACHDEP... darwin
checking machine type as reported by uname -m... x86_64
checking for --without-gcc... no
checking for gcc... no
checking for cc... no
checking for cl.exe... no
configure: error: in `/Volumes/Richard Home/richard/Downloads/Python-3.2.2':
configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
See `config.log' for more details

Any help on this would be appreciated....

But then I don't seem to be able to run the make command, which is how I ended up at the link above.

I've followed the advice within the post with the following results:

Code:
Richards-Mac-Pro:~ richard$ which gnumake
Richards-Mac-Pro:~ richard$ sudo ln -s /usr/bin/gnumake /usr/bin/make
Password:
ln: /usr/bin/make: File exists
Richards-Mac-Pro:~ richard$ which make
Richards-Mac-Pro:~ richard$

I have reinstalled xcode (from the app store), but still get no result from which make.

I'd appreciate any advice on how to get python 3.2.2 up and running.

Thanks.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,924
Reaction score
559
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Any particular reason you're building Python? Not only is it included with OS X but the Python website has pre-built binaries.

Python installers: http://python.org/download/
 
OP
R
Joined
Jan 8, 2012
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Any particular reason you're building Python? Not only is it included with OS X but the Python website has pre-built binaries.

Python installers: Download Python

Ah, thanks... Yes :Blushing: too much haste....

Doesn't explain "which make" not returning a path, but should get me on the road to installation.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
echo $PATH

I bet /usr/bin does not exist in your path.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,924
Reaction score
559
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
echo $PATH

I bet /usr/bin does not exist in your path.
That would make sense since that's where make resides but I have no idea how /usr/bin/ wouldn't be in the user's path. I have however seen Xcode installs go wrong and leave certain symlinks uncreated (make is a symlink to /usr/bin/gnumake).
 
OP
R
Joined
Jan 8, 2012
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Thanks for your replys, sorry I've been tied up for a few days.

my path is as follows:
Code:
Richards-Mac-Pro:Python-3.2.2 richard$ $PATH
-bash: /usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11/bin: No such file or directory

so it does contain /usr/bin, but gets a bit messy towards the end. Not sure what the No such file or directory is referring to (I get it on my macbook too).
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,924
Reaction score
559
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Throw "echo" in front of that and you won't get that error. ;)

What do you get when you execute the following?
Code:
ls -l /usr/bin/make
 

rman


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
12,637
Reaction score
168
Points
63
Location
Los Angeles, California
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
Did you load the xcode development environment? If not that maybe why the make command is not available.
 
OP
R
Joined
Jan 8, 2012
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Thanks, I've reinstalled xcode again and it all seems to have sorted itself out.

Many thanks for your help.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top