Purchasing Advice

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" 2.3ghz Core i5 MBP, 2G 8gb iPod Touch, Samsung Galaxy S
Hello all!

I'm currently in the market for a Mac after being a PC user of about 10 years. My old HP laptop finally gave out a couple weeks ago due to motherboard failure. Apparently its a common issue in the DV2000 due to issues with the graphic card getting to hot. I had an idea of it when my first blue screen came up, but I didn't think it would happen this quickly.

I'm currently a college student pursuing a degree in Computer Information Systems. At this moment, I have no major programs other than word documents and standard surfing. I work on Macs mostly at school, so I'm pretty much ready to make the transition. Now I know like Microsoft, Apple releases major updates to there OS every 2-3 years. Now with that in mind, I'm curious if the old Core 2 Duo Macbook Pros are even worth it at this point? I've been scouting out the Refub store and occasionally see C2D models slightly cheaper then the i5. Basically my question is, will an i5 last longer in terms of upgrades than a C2D? I've seen all of the specs and benchmarks and I do agree that the i5 is faster, but why not save a little if possible? I'm looking at my purchase in terms of longevity because I need something that will last awhile, but also something that's within my budget.

I'm not looking to purchase until tax time in a few weeks so I have some time to get some more money together. So with all of this in mind, any advice would be great!

C

chas_m

Basically my question is, will an i5 last longer in terms of upgrades than a C2D?

With respect: bit obvious that one isn't it?

The Core2Duo has been around since 2007 (I know since I'm writing to you on one right now!). It's pretty long in the tooth as chips go.