Questions regarding post-processing work using an iMac & an external hard drive

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am a photographer who has been working with a Windows-based laptop. I will be purchasing the 21.5” iMac as well as an external hard drive for storage/backup purposes. I have a few concerns and am hoping to get some assistance and advice. Thank you in advance for taking the time to read my post and provide me with some direction.

Here is what I plan to achieve with my new setup:

1. Upgrade to the 2.8GHz quad-core i7
2. Increase memory to 16GB
3. Have 1 TB of hard disk space, with only applications saved onto it
4. Use the external HD as the primary source/location of my files

Here are my concerns:

1. When selecting an external hard drive, would it be considered “useless” to purchase a hard drive that is double the size of the internal hard drive?

2a. If I only save my photos or files (both original and edited versions) to my external hard drive, will I be limiting the speed in which it takes the computer to process commands due to the fact that the original file is saved to the external as opposed to the internal hard drive?

2b. Am I better off getting a 2TB internal hard drive instead and just save the original and edited files to the internal hard drive; using the external hard drive solely as a “backup” in order for me to fully utilize the power and speed of the i7 processor?

I apologize if my questions are either unclear/confusing or simply just lack common sense. Again, I would greatly appreciate any assistance on these or any other factors that I may have forgot to address.

Cheers!

J-Villa

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.