Tiger to Snow Leopard-wont upgrade :(

Reaction score
Hi,
Im new to all this so hope Im doing it right ! I recently bought a secondhand Macbook. It runs Tiger 10.4.11 so I bought Snow Leopard having read online that its possible to upgrade but then when I went to install it says it cant upgrade unless its a 10.5 or higher. So annoyed because its says everywhere that its possible. Is there anyway of sorting this out without having to buy Leopard?

Thanks for the help !

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black MacBook 2.2GHz C2D, 4GB Ram - iMac G4 700MHz, 512MB Ram
Did you buy a black upgrade disk directly from apple such as here?: Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard - Apple Store (U.S.)

If so, the only way to install using the upgrade disk is to erase tiger entirely, and install SL as if Tiger never existed on the machine.

Be sure to back up all of your data first as well. :)

OP
L
Reaction score
I bought the SL disc on amazon.
Ok if I erase Tiger is there any chance it snow leopard wont work and then ill be stuck with basically a useless laptop?
Sorry for my ignorance !

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I bought the SL disc on amazon.
Ok if I erase Tiger is there any chance it snow leopard wont work and then ill be stuck with basically a useless laptop?
Sorry for my ignorance !

Are you 100% positive this is a "MacBook"...and not Powerbook or iBook?

If it definitely is a MacBook...and you're getting the OS 10.5 message...are you sure this SL disc is not an upgrade disk...instead of a full retail install disk? If you're not sure...post the Amazon link that you purchased from so we can look at it.

Thanks,

- Nick

OP
L
Reaction score
Its definitely the full Snow Leopard. and my macbook specs are: 10.4.11, 1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GB 533 MHz DDR@ SDRAM.
It is a 2006 Macbook, if that makes any difference.
How do I erase Tiger and is it 100% safe?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs