Base language set to Chinese

Reaction score
Hello all.

I'm an English teacher living and working in China.

I've just bought an iMac from a shop here and, as part of the setup process in the shop, the sales assistant turned the iMac on for the very first time and when prompted for the 'base language' of the Mac, chose Chinese, despite my protestations.

I've set up an administrator account and everything is in English, but every so often, I have messages which are in Chinese - for example the popup telling you that your mouse is connected/disconnected.

My worry is that at some point there will be an error message of some kind in Chinese which my Chinese wife will not understand or be able to translate.

Is there a way to reverse this and put the base language of the iMac into English?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Use the install disk that came with the iMac and boot with it. Select English as the language and then proceed with a reinstall of OS X. Note that a reinstall could destroy data. (You neglected to tell us which version of OS X you're iMac is running.) If your new iMac came preinstalled with Lion you won't have a disk.

Before you reinstall make a backup using Time Machine to backup to an external hard drive.

OP
G
Reaction score
So I have to re-install the entire OS? :(

You're right, there's no disc. I bought it on Tuesday so I'm assuming it's the latest version.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
So I have to re-install the entire OS? :(

You're right, there's no disc. I bought it on Tuesday so I'm assuming it's the latest version.

Not to fret just yet as you will have Lion 10.7.x installed and  have made a Recovery Partition with the Lion OS on it so you can do a reinstall and it will be easy.