Seriously Needing Help

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Power Mac G4, 1GB Ram, 40GB HD, 533MHz, DVD, 2 Firewire, 2 USB, Mac os 9, Mac os x 10.4.11
OK, I'm new to MAC's and learning how to get around. I have a power mac g4 running mac OS x 10.4.11 and OS 9. I t was working fine when I got it and today I did and update of the QuickTime and safari. After the update completed my menu bar at the top(whole bar) and my desktop icons are all flashing. Nothing I open stays open for more than 3 to 5 seconds. I search on here and saw similar issues but nothing that helps. I don't have any disk for it nor do I know the admin password to get into safe mode. Can anyone please help a newbie with his mac?:Confused:

C

chas_m

How are you even able to install things without knowing an admin password?

OP
tribeone
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Power Mac G4, 1GB Ram, 40GB HD, 533MHz, DVD, 2 Firewire, 2 USB, Mac os 9, Mac os x 10.4.11
I really don't know. All I know is when I plugged it up and turned it on I got a message to change the date and time after that it was working just fine. Then I got that update screen to update the QuickTime which looked familiar to me because it was the same as on my windows pc. I clicked install and it did it. After the install the desktop screen icons and menu bar at top just started flashing on and off every 3 to 5 seconds. So I tried to start it in safe mode and it asked for login ID and password. Which I don't have/know.

C

chas_m