Help Choosing the Right Mac Pro CPU Build

Reaction score
Hello. I am a fairly new Mac user, I have been working on a MacBook Pro for the last 3 years. I am also not the most computer savvy and could really use some tutoring from those more enlightened.

I am going to purchase a Mac Pro for my office and could really use some advise on which processor configuration to choose.

A Bit of Background:
I am a landscape architect and designer so I use a range of programs including AutoCAD, ArchiCad, the Adobe Creative Suite, and will be adding more to my tool box as time goes by. In addition I will probably be required at some point to run windows through one of the program options available.

I am looking for power, performance and longevity.

My Question:
Mainly I am looking for suggestions on which CPU configuration to choose. I have to admit I am very unclear on the advantages of the multiple processor and multiple core systems. In my situation which of the three builds I am considering is best for my use requirements and why.

The options I am considering are:
3.33 6-Core Intel Xeon “Westmere”
Two 2.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Westmere” (8 cores)
Two 2.66GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon “Westmere” (12 cores)

Thanks very much for your help!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I have to admit I am very unclear on the advantages of the multiple processor and multiple core systems.

As you can imagine...more cores/cpus = more processing power. The biggest "homework assignment" you have...is to determine if the software applications you are going to use the most are written to take advantage of multiple cores/multiple cpu's.

Surprisingly...there are not that many applications written to take advantage of multiple cores/cpu's...so if you purchase a 6, 8, or 12 core Mac Pro...many applications won't use more than 1-2 of them.