Installing windows through Boot Camp - Help

Reaction score
Firstly hello to everyone.

Im brand new to Mac this week, My girl friend has gotten herself one of those iMac thingys for her university work.

So I didn't buy this for gaming and haven't really ever been into tech before so I don't mind you speaking to me like you would your gran. However I do enjoy playing a few games.

Anyway I downloaded Steam (for games) and got myself Shogun2 Total war, only to find that you can't play it on a Mac (as I said I'm clueless). So upon further reading I have seen that most games are not supported by Mac :(

I have read here on one of your stickies and on various places on the web about installing Windows through Boot Camp. I have already have Boot Camp pre loaded onto my Mac. I can't however as is advised in the sticky, read the instructions, it only gives an option to print (but i haven't got a printer).

So I guess what i want to know is, and what i can't seem to find answers to is; Is it difficult to install windows? Once installed is it easy to use both OS, and is it easy to uninstall should i want to? is it risky to install windows? Will it slow down or cause any performance problems? Will it open me up to risk from viruses, and will i have to buy anti virus software ect?

Finally is Windows my only option if i want to play games?

I already have and will continue to do plenty of reading online about this subject

Thanks in advance for your help.

Mike

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums.

Did you Google the questions concerning guidelines?

http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/boot_camp_install-setup.pdf

It is simple to install and run if you follow the guidelines and download drivers. It is not risky to install Windows subject to using Microsoft Security Essentials AV software which is free, or some other reliable version. It is freeware available by download from Microsoft.