New Macbook Pro Questions :/

Reaction score
Hello..
So I'm new to using macs, I recently bought a mac from a best buy, and I went back to another best buy to upgrade to more memory, and they told me that I had gotten the outdated one..... I have since then switched it again because the one they gave me then was giving me little problems here and there and I was still within the 14 days that you get to exchange it. Well now i'm paranoid that I have gotten and outdate once again.

So my questions are..... I just opened my mac a few hours ago... I have to do an update of iPhoto and iTunes that it says was last updated in October.. Should I have to update these, or should my macbook pro already come with this up to date since it's supposed to be the latest one......

2. Should my laptop be charged after just opening it or dead..... The battery was almost full without connecting it or anything upon first removing it from the box.

Any answers you guys could have to make sure I actually do have the latest one would be awesome and very appreciated. I know these question might seem dumb but I'm pretty slow when it comes to macs, I want to feel at ease and make sure I didn't get the wrong outdate one again.

Thanks for the help in advance :)

Reaction score
Buying a new mac doesn't mean it should have the latest software version of iTunes in it (a new version could come out once the laptop left the factory).

I'm not sure I understand the memory part of the question as that has nothing to do with software being up to date or not.

In terms of the battery,if the laptop works right out of the box, why should that be of concern? Enjoy your new mac! :)

Reaction score
Something just does not seem right to me, does it have the new Lion OS? Myself I would ask BB for another MacPro.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey