High temprature and breaks

Reaction score
Hey guys, IM a newbie on this machines so im pretty without certain of what is normal or not in OS X! I bought the MBP 15" 2.2Ghz about a month ago, and im feeling that he gets heat a lot (sometimes u feel that if it was more heat u couldnt pick it up with the palm of your hand for a long time) i only have like 79Gb og the initial 500 ocupied and for two times, not more, when the pc mbp was sleeping, i pressed 'space' to activate it and it crashed! I was wondering if sometimes with this new intel processors it would b normal???
I would b most greatfull for 'some lights' here and sorry about my lousy english btw!

Cheers

C

chas_m

1. Your machine is not overheating. If it were actually overheating, it would shut itself off.

2. Your machine disperses heat through the chassis and via fans. So it is PERFECTLY normal for the chassis to get warm. This is why Apple does not sell "laptops," they sell "notebooks." Don't keep any notebook (Mac or PC) on your lap or a soft surface (like a pillow, which will block the vents) for prolonged periods.

3. If you like, you can buy a riser to keep the underside of the notebook raised up, which helps with air circulation -- but generally, the MBP knows how to cool itself and unless you are doing something dumb (see #2) it's fine.

OP
T
Reaction score
Dont need to b that sarcastic but thanks anyway, that advices are to be aplied in every kind of laptops/Notebooks, but yes, ive heard that MBP or the most macs are very good in that aspect. About the breaks you think its normal???

C

chas_m

I'm sorry if it came over sarcastic, it wasn't intended. I can definitely be sarcastic but generally when I am doing so it's VERY VERY CLEAR.

You'd be surprised how many people think it's okay to keep a notebook on a pillow!