OSX Lion Accessing WHS 2011 Shares (slow)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac i7/3.4GHz, 12GB RAM, OSX 10.7.2
I’m new to Mac’s but after 25 years of doing it Bill’s way, trying Steve’s alternative is like a breath of fresh air and I’m loving the Mac experience.

I have a small issue accessing Windows SMB shares that you Mac experts may be able to help with.

I use Windows Home Server 2011 for centralized data storage and I’ve setup my iMac to auto-mount the shares I access all the time – so far so good.
The problem I have is the speed opening these shares folders. When the iMac is first booted and logged in, the shares mount immediately but if I open them I usually get a blank window for 20-30 seconds before the contents of the folder appear. I usually don’t turn off my iMac (let it sleep) and this appears to improve things because after its been on a while I only get blank folders if I go deeper into the directory structures.
It’s as if the Mac has to index the SMB shares each time it boots and it doesn’t bother to do this until the folders are opened.
What’s really odd is that I have a virtualized Windows 7 installed in Parallels and when the Mac is waiting to display the folder content I can access the same (or any other) folder from within this virtualized Windows immediately. It should be noted that once opened OSX Reads and Writes data to the SMB shares as fast as the Windows PC’s, so it’s definitely something to do with OSX opening the shares and not the speed of the LAN.
I’ve done all the basics like making sure all the PC’s are in the same workgroup and setting up the server DNS name in the Mac hosts file.

My hardware is a late 2011 27” iMac with i7-3.4GHz and 12MB RAM running OSX 10.7.2. WHS 2011 runs on an HP Proliant Microserver configured with 5GB RAM and 8TB RAID-5 Array. The LAN is hardwired via a 3COM 1Gbps 24-Port Layer 2 Switch.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Performa 6116 2GBSCSI 8MB OS 7.5.3