Lion Mail & Exchange: Why are there two inboxes and 1 is not working?

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am new to Mac and OS X. I recently bought my wife a MacBook Air and, of course, I am playing with it a little bit myself.

While I really like the intuitive usage of the OS, I stumbled upon something very strange in the Mail app. I am using a hosted Exchange account and setting it up in the Mail app was much easier than with Windows and Outlook?!?
Everything seems to work fine, but I find it very strange, that some folders are shown twice. One time under 'Mailboxes' on the top of the list on the left hand side, and one time under the name of my account (see attached screenshot). But all the folders under my account are empty and do not sync with the server. The three folders under 'Mailboxes' (Inbox, Sent, Trash) work fine and sync perfectly including the subfolders.

Of course I can hide the folders under my account. But I think it's very strange. I also can't use the menu item 'Use this folder for...' as all the options are greyed out.

So, does someone know why Mail behaves like that?

Thanks a lot!
iBlueDragon

Screen1.png

C

chas_m

Mail shows any remote-server-based (usually IMAP) accounts separately even though there is some overlap. The reason for this is so that the server-based folders are shown (infected items, I giggled at that).

You can't rename or re-purpose remote email folders because the Mail program doesn't have the server's permission to do that. You would want to access the remote server via a web browser to do any of that.

If you'll click on the little arrow next to the Inbox and Sent under "Mailboxes," I think you'll find you have more than one account, probably that's been set up by accident. You can fix that in the preferences under accounts.

OP
I
Reaction score
Thanks, chas_m.

I thought so, but why are the server folders empty, while the mailbox folders are not?