Photoshop CS5 (Upgrade)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27", iPhone 4, iTouch.
Hi All

Just received my first Mac (iMac 27") which I am totally delighted with. I have been using Photoshop CS3 on my PC for a couple of years. I contacted Adobe to enquire about upgrading to CS5 (Mac Version) and using my CS3 licence as a valid upgrade path. All was fine with this approach so I paid the £150 upgrade charge, therefore avoiding the £600 full CS5 cost.

Shortly afterwards I received my CS5 (Mac) software and tried to install. When prompted I entered the CS3 licence code which I took from the side of the CS3 box which I still had. The licence code was rejected and after speaking to Adobe they confirmed it was not a valid licence.

The version of Photoshop CS3 aI have been using ppears to have been a pirate copy. I bought it off ebay (I know, I know...) as an un-registered and shrink wrapped copy of CS3. I bought it when CS4 was the current version so I (nievely) assumed that it was surplus stock and was legit.

I have had to cancel my CS5 upgrade and I'm now looking at the best way forward.

I have noticed that Amazon are still selling CS4 (for around £200) which perhaps I could then use as an upgrade route to CS5. Total outlay woul dbe around £350 as opposed to circa £600 to buy CS5 without going the upgrade route from a previous version.

So, getting to the point (finally), despite how genuine it may seem (unregistered, shrink wrapped etc) be careful where you buy your software from. (Please Note : I am absolutely not suggesting that all ebay sellers are selling pirated software. It does though appear that I was unfortunate).

Lastly, has anyone done the CS4 (from Amazon) and then bought a CS5 upgrade licence as I am now thinking of doing ?

I presume buying from Amazon it must be a legit copy of CS4 so should therefore be a valid licence code to use as an upgrade to CS5.

Thank you for listening and getting to the end of this lengthy note.

Cheers

Reaction score