G5 still good for just web browsing ?

Reaction score
Hello ,so i am looking at a G5 2004 dual 2.5 w/6gb of ram that a co worker has
For sale since he recently upgraded (he is only asking $250).
My question is since i am very new to the Macworld would this be a decent
Unit for just web browsing and maybe jus checking email ?
I dont have alot of extra cash and i dont really play video games +I do think
They look really cool. :Smirk:
Your feed back would be greatly appreciated ...thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
For "simple" web browsing and email, yes it will suffice. But the last version of OS X that it will run is 10.5 Leopard, which is increasingly being left behind. Web standards are evolving and the web browsers are evolving to keep up. Firefox 8 does still support Leopard, so you should be covered for the near future with HTML 5 and other advancements. If you don't need to be completely up-to-date with web standards for your needs, then it should work well for some time to come. But… be sure it is running Mac OS 10.5 Leopard AND he gives you the install discs. If it has 10.4 Tiger, then you won't be able to run the latest versions of Firefox or anything else and are facing spending another 100+ dollars to upgrade.

OP
C
Reaction score
Ok thanks for the info much appreciated , Do u think I would be able to stream stuff like
Pandora or Spotify ? Or I should just keep saving my $$ and jus by a nicely used 2007 macbook pro, i only say that cause ive seen them on CL here locally in $for like
$400- $550.
Again thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
Ok thanks for the info much appreciated , Do u think I would be able to stream stuff like
Pandora or Spotify ? Or I should just keep saving my $$ and jus by a nicely used 2007 macbook pro, i only say that cause ive seen them on CL here locally in $for like
$400- $550.
Again thanks