HP LaserJet 1000 and OS X

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Unibody MBP 2.53, 4Gigs Ram, 320 HD, Snow Leopard, 500 Gig Time Capsule, 32 Gig White 3GS
Is this printer just not compatible with OS X?
I am a recent switcher (last 6 months or so) and I just got my GF to switch, but now I can't get her printer to work with her new ibook.

All I can find from google are these links:

http://www.linuxprinting.org/show_printer.cgi?recnum=HP-LaserJet_1000

http://foo2oak.rkkda.com/INSTALL

All sites seem to press towards compiling things and uploading firmware to the printer itself EVERYTIME you power it back up.

There has got to be a better way no?

Any help would be great,

Thank you

OP
L
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Unibody MBP 2.53, 4Gigs Ram, 320 HD, Snow Leopard, 500 Gig Time Capsule, 32 Gig White 3GS
*bump*
I still haven't sorted this out for my GF and I'm feelin like a bit of a tool... anyone have any suggestions?

Reaction score
I have recently switch from Windows, so I'm no expert here. But I had the same problem just two hours ago, trying to print to a HP Laserjet 1015 (installed on a networked Windows computer). What I did was to select a Laserjet 6L as the printer, and it's working ok (at least with the pdf viewer in osx). Perhaps I am missing some features but at least I can print.

M

MacHeadCase

This is the list of Mac OS X 10.4: Included printer drivers and PostScript PPD files. As you can see, the HP 1000 is in that list.

From Apple's website:
Mac OS X 10.4 installs printer drivers and PostScript Printer Description files (PPDs) for many printers. Some printer files included with Mac OS X 10.4 might not be included with previous Mac OS X versions, and vice-versa. This article contains a list of all printer drivers and PPD files included with Mac OS X 10.4. Please note that some of these drivers were created by open-source projects (refer to the "Install Package" column in the list to find the driver source).