Questions about MacBook Air :)

Reaction score
So I'm a UNI student looking for something to take to and from, light and portable, and nothing compares to an Air at the moment in the same price range. Especially second hand!

So I'm looking at purchasing an 11.6" 2011 model with the 64GB SSD and i5 or a 13.3" 2010 with 128GB SSD both for about the same $$.

I wanted to ask the Apple store a few questions but they are closed so I turn to you :)

1. If I want to install something by DVD how might I go about that?
2. If I buy second hand whats the deal with Applecare? Does it roll over?
3. If I find the SSD ageing or not enough is it possible to upgrade it? Or does the cost of getting them to do that exceed the cost of the machine?
4. If the battery life is diminished, is it possible for them to replace it?

Sorry for all the questions, this is my first post :)

I'm usually a PC guy but my Dad loves his MacBook pros and all his other apple gear and I think I'll give an apple laptop a shot, everything else I have of theirs is nice :)

Thanks in advance for any help :D

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
You would need an external USB Superdrive for your MBA to install software by DVD.

SSD can be upgraded but it cost as much as the MBA itself so not worth it. >_>"

OP
O
Reaction score
Okay awsome thanks :)

I found out its $180 AUD to get the battery replaced out of warranty so that one is answered :)

Would the 11.6" be too small for typing on?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MacBook Air, i5 27" IMac, 2010 21.5" IMac, 2010 Mini, 2011 13" MBP, IPhone 4, Airport Extreme