proud mac owner

F

faboloso112

hey guys
i just bought a old mac g3 for about a hundred bucks. im just trying to expand my understanding of OSX and all that and this seems like a pretty friendly forums so i figured why not join up.
by the way, since i am COMPLETELY new to macs, expect a lot of noob questions.
the main one being, i will be running 10.3 on the G3 which has 350MHz proc. Would it be able to handle 10.4? What are the minimum requirements for 10.4.
Thanks for the info guys :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
Congratulations on your first Mac! Hopefully you'll learn to love OSX.

As for your question, check this page out, http://www.apple.com/macosx/upgrade/requirements.html.

I believe RAM is where you may be lacking, according to your profile you have around 256MB of RAM. Tiger should run o.k. on it, but it will run WAY better if you upgrade your RAM. I don't remember what the G3s max out at, but get as much as you can. http://www.ramjet.com <<They have some good, inexpensive RAM.

Good luck!

edit: Fry rules.

OP
F

faboloso112

thx surfwax for the info.
i know the G3 take pc100 ram. but what if i were to install some pc133 ram...in a PC the ram would just be underclocked, is that the case for macs as well?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
Yes, I believe you can put in faster RAM in place of the slower RAM, don't quote me on it though.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Colorware PowerBook 1.67 GHz G4, 2 GB DDR2, 100GB 7200 RPM
I have 2700 RAM in my iBook, and it just downclocks it to 2100.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Powermac g4 400mhz, 10gb, 256mb ram, OS9
I have PC 133 ram in my Powermac g3 that takes PC 66. works fine, no probems. good luck!

OP
J

jn4jenny

faboloso112 said:
hey guys