Remote Desktop Connection for Mac Problems

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am new to Apple products, and this forum, so please forgive me in advanced if I have posted this question in the wrong place or my problem is a minor problem.

I have a MacBook Pro running OS Lion 10.6.8 and am having problems with my Remote Desktop Connection for Mac application. Using this app, I need to log into a server running Windows Server 2003. However everytime I login, the remote session disconnects/crashes every 30 secs or so.

I have no idea why this is and really need some help on this. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
-->
10.6.8 is Snow Leopard. Is this the Microsoft client?

OP
P
Reaction score
Apologies......you’re right with the Snow Leopard comment.
Regarding the Microsoft Client question – Yes it is. I downloading the application from the MS websites (Remote Desktop Connection Client 2.1) but it keeps crashing when I log into the MS server from my Macbook Pro.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
-->
I found the Microsoft client to be totally unreliable and dumped it. I know use CoRD and it is 100% better and it never drops on me like the MS client did.

Reaction score
I can vpn to my work network but cannot remote into my work computer...tried using the RDC that came on my iMac and CoRD neither will connect. My windows 7 laptop has no problem connecting to my windows xp computer at work...what or how do I do this?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
-->
Are you going in via the host name of the remote system or with the IP address?

Reaction score
was going in the same way i do on my windows pc...the name of my work computer. At this point it is a challenge that I want to figure out how to make it work....I had a heck of a time getting vpn to connect but finally did, so now I want to be able to remote in and get to my files..

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
-->